Top 10 Eurovision Winners of All Time

Eurovision is one of the longest-running and most watched international music competitions in the world. With countries from across Europe (and some from outside Europe) competing for the top spot, Eurovision has produced some truly iconic winners over the years. Here are the top 10 Eurovision winners of all time:

1. ABBA – Sweden (1974)

One of the most famous Eurovision winners of all time, ABBA’s win in 1974 with their hit song “Waterloo” launched them to international stardom. The Swedish group went on to become one of the best-selling music acts in history.

2. Celine Dion – Switzerland (1988)

Before becoming a global superstar, Celine Dion won the Eurovision Song Contest in 1988 representing Switzerland with the song “Ne partez pas sans moi”. Her win catapulted her to fame and set the stage for her successful music career.

3. Loreen – Sweden (2012)

Loreen’s win in 2012 with the song “Euphoria” was one of the most memorable moments in Eurovision history. The Swedish singer’s powerful performance and catchy tune made her a standout winner that year.

4. Alexander Rybak – Norway (2009)

Alexander Rybak’s win in 2009 with the song “Fairytale” set a new record for the highest score in Eurovision history at that time. The Norwegian artist’s catchy violin skills and charming stage presence made him a fan favorite.

5. Conchita Wurst – Austria (2014)

Conchita Wurst made history in 2014 by becoming the first drag queen to win the Eurovision Song Contest. Her stirring performance of “Rise Like a Phoenix” captivated audiences and earned her the top prize.

6. Salvador Sobral – Portugal (2017)

Salvador Sobral’s win in 2017 with the song “Amar pelos dois” was a triumph for Portugal, marking their first-ever victory in Eurovision. The singer’s emotive performance and unique style won over the hearts of viewers around the world.

7. Johnny Logan – Ireland (1980, 1987)

Johnny Logan is the only artist to have won the Eurovision Song Contest multiple times as a performer. The Irish singer-songwriter won in 1980 with “What’s Another Year” and in 1987 with “Hold Me Now”, cementing his status as a Eurovision legend.

8. Helena Paparizou – Greece (2005)

Helena Paparizou’s win in 2005 with the song “My Number One” was a high-energy performance that captured the hearts of Eurovision fans. The Greek singer’s victory solidified her place as one of the top Eurovision winners of all time.

9. Bucks Fizz – United Kingdom (1981)

Bucks Fizz’s win in 1981 with the song “Making Your Mind Up” was a momentous occasion for the United Kingdom. The British group’s catchy tune and memorable skirt-ripping dance routine made them a Eurovision favorite.

10. Dana International – Israel (1998)

Dana International made history in 1998 by becoming the first transgender Eurovision winner with her song “Diva”. The Israeli singer’s powerful vocals and dynamic stage presence earned her the top spot that year.


These top 10 Eurovision winners of all time have left an indelible mark on the contest with their memorable performances and iconic songs. From ABBA to Celine Dion to Conchita Wurst, each winner has contributed to the rich history of Eurovision and continues to inspire generations of music lovers around the world.

Featured Image Credit:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *